Zeranol Use in Meat and Breast Cancer

1 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
01 Dec 2020

Anabolic growth promoting drugs in meat production are by far the most potent hormones found in the food supply.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free e-newsletter and receive a recipe from Dr. Greger's brand-new cookbook, The How Not to Diet Cookbook: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/


Isn’t that amazing about the DES story? I had no idea it was used in meat production. Check out some of the other Big Pharma on Big Farms: Illegal Drugs in Chicken Feathers (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/illegal-drugs-in-c

The most dangerous additive used in the meat industry is antibiotics, though. See, for example:
• Antibiotics: Agribusinesses’ Pound of Flesh (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/antibiotics-agribu
• MRSA Superbugs in Meat (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/mrsa-superbugs-in-
• Drug Residues in Meat (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/drug-residues-in-m
• How Many Cancers Have Been Caused by Arsenic-Laced Chicken? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-many-cancers-h

For more on what may be bad for the breast, check out:
• Breast Cancer and Alcohol: How Much Is Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-and-
• Breast Cancer Risk: Red Wine v. White Wine (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-risk
• Statin Cholesterol Drugs and Invasive Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Statin-Cholesterol
• Cholesterol Feeds Breast Cancer Cells (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Cholesterol-Feeds-
• Cancer Risk From French Fries (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Cancer-Risk-From-F
• Estrogenic Cooked Meat Carcinogens (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/estrogenic-cooked-

And for what may protective, see:
• Broccoli vs. Breast Cancer Stem Cells (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/broccoli-versus-br
• Why Do Asian Women Have Less Breast Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/why-do-asian-women
• Flaxseeds & Breast Cancer Prevention (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flaxseeds-breast-c
• Breast Cancer vs. Mushrooms (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-vs-m
• Preventing Breast Cancer by Any Greens Necessary (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-breast-
• Tree Nuts or Peanuts for Breast Cancer Prevention? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/tree-nuts-or-peanu
• Fiber vs. Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/fiber-vs-breast-ca
• Which Dietary Factors Affect Breast Cancer Most? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Which-Dietary-Fact

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/zeranol-use-in-mea and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/zeranol-use-in-mea. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscr....iption_center?add_us

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Image Credit: Permission kindly granted by Dan Piraro at Bizarro.com for the cartoon.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found