Whole Beets vs. Juice for Improving Athletic Performance

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
20 Feb 2020

What is the latest science on the performance-enhancing qualities of nitrate-rich vegetables?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

17-part video series? My videos were much shorter back then, but still! Here you go if you want to put the whole discovery in context and get the detailed mechanism:
• Doping With Beet Juice (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/doping-with-beet-j
• Priming the Proton Pump (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/priming-the-proton
• Don’t Use Antiseptic Mouthwash (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/dont-use-antisepti
• Out of the Lab Onto the Track (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/out-of-the-lab-ont
• Asparagus Pee (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/asparagus-pee/)
• Pretty in Pee-nk (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pretty-in-pee-nk/)
• Vegetables Rate by Nitrate (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/vegetables-rate-by
• Is Bacon Good or Is Spinach Bad? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-bacon-good-or-i
When Nitrites Go Bad (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/when-nitrites-go-b
• Hearts Shouldn’t Skip a Beet (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/hearts-shouldnt-sk
• Bacon and Botulism (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/bacon-and-botulism
• Are Nitrates Pollutants or Nutrients? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/are-nitrates-pollu
• Prevention Is Better Than Cured Meat (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/prevention-is-bett
• Carcinogens in the Smell of Frying Bacon (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/carcinogens-in-the
• Vitamin C-Enriched Bacon (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/vitamin-c-enriched
• So Should We Drink Beet Juice or Not? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/so-should-we-drink

Wait, that’s only 16. I think at the time I was also including Meat Additives to Diminish Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/meat-additives-to-

How else can we support athletic performance? See:
• Reducing Muscle Fatigue with Citrus (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/reducing-muscle-fa
• Reducing Muscle Soreness with Berries (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/reducing-muscle-so
• Preventing Exercise-Induced Oxidative Stress With Watercress (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-exercis

On the other hand, Paleo Diets May Negate Benefits of Exercise (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Paleo-Diets-May-Ne

It’s great that we can improve athletic performance eating a few beets, but what about people who could really benefit from a more efficient use of oxygen? That’s the subject of my next video, Oxygenating Blood With Nitrate-Rich Vegetables (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/oxygenating-blood-

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/whole-beets-vs-jui and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Nicholas Noyes via Flickr and Anna Kucherova via 123rf.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found