Who Determines if Food Additives Are Safe?

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
26 Jan 2021

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free e-newsletter and receive a recipe from Dr. Greger's brand-new cookbook, The How Not to Diet Cookbook: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/


DESCRIPTION: The safety of food additives is determined not by the FDA, but by the manufacturers of the chemicals themselves.

I've got three dozen videos on food additives (http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/food-additives). Here are a few highlights:

Artificial Colors:

• Is Caramel Color Carcinogenic? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-caramel-color-c
• Artificial Food Colors and ADHD (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/artificial-food-co
• Artificial Coloring in Fish (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/artificial-colorin
• Titanium Dioxide & Inflammatory Bowel Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/titanium-dioxide-i

Phosphates:

• How to Avoid Phosphate Additives (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-to-avoid-phosp
• Phosphate Additives in Chicken (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/phosphate-additive
• Phosphate Additives in Meat Purge and Cola (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/phosphate-additive

Preservatives:

• When Nitrites Go Bad (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/when-nitrites-go-b
• Bacon and Botulism (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/bacon-and-botulism
• Is Potassium Sorbate Bad for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-potassium-sorba
• Is Sodium Benzoate Harmful? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-sodium-benzoate

Sweeteners:

• Is Stevia Good For You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-stevia-good-for
• Erythritol May Be a Sweet Antioxidant (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/erythritol-may-be-
• Neurobiology of Artificial Sweeteners (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/neurobiology-of-ar

Others:

• Butter Flavored Microwave Popcorn or Breathing? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/butter-flavored-mi
• Meat Additives to Diminish Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/meat-additives-to-
• Is Carrageenan Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-carrageenan-saf

Just as the food additive industry gets to decide which food additives are safe, the food industry holds sway over which food is considered safe. See, for example, my video The McGovern Report (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-mcgovern-repor

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/who-determines-if- and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: mseery via flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found