Treating Chronic Kidney Disease with Food

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
29 Feb 2020

Plant-based diets have been successfully shown to slow or stop the progression of kidney failure, but what about all the phosphorus and potassium in plant foods?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

This is the last of an extended six-part video series on the latest science on diet and kidney health. Check out the rest of the series here:
• Preventing Kidney Failure Through Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-kidney-
• Treating Kidney Failure Through Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/treating-kidney-fa
• Can Diet Protect Against Kidney Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/can-diet-protect-a
• Which Type of Protein is Better for Our Kidneys? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/which-type-of-prot
• Protein Source: An Acid Test for Kidney Function (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/protein-source-an-

The problem for most people (98% of American Diets Potassium Deficient http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/98-of-american-die is not getting enough potassium, but you have to have functioning kidneys to keep you in balance. Too much phosphorus in the blood can also be a problem. Phosphate additives are something we should try to stay away from. See my three-part video series:
• Phosphate Additives in Meat Purge and Cola (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/phosphate-additive
• Phosphate Additives in Chicken (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/phosphate-additive
• How to Avoid Phosphate Additives (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-to-avoid-phosp

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/treating-chronic-k and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Steve Davis via Flickr.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found