The Food Industry Wants the Public Confused About Nutrition

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
26 Jun 2020

The “Fairness Doctrine” example shows to what extent the purveyors of unhealthy products will go to keep the truth from the American public.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

The trans fat story is an excellent example of this, which I just did two videos about, Controversy Over the Trans Fat Ban (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/controversy-over-t and Banning Trans Fat in Processed Foods but Not Animal Fat (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Banning-Trans-Fat-

Isn’t that Fairness Doctrine example amazing? Just goes to show how powerful the truth can be. If you want to support my efforts to spread evidence-based nutrition you can donate to our 501c3 nonprofit here (https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/), and support Balanced (https://balanced.org/), an ally organization NutritionFacts.org helped launch to put this evidence into practice.

More tobacco industry parallels can be found in Big Food Using the Tobacco Industry Playbook (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/big-food-using-the American Medical Association Complicity with Big Tobacco (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/american-medical-a and How Smoking in 1956 is Like Eating in 2017 (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-smoking-in-the

Want to know more about that saturated fat tax idea? See: Would Taxing Unhealthy Foods Improve Public Health? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/would-taxing-unhea

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-food-industry- and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-food-industry-. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscr....iption_center?add_us

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Image credit: Ed Schipul / Flickr. Image has been modified.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found