Should We All Take Aspirin to Prevent Heart Disease?

0 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
02 Mar 2020

The benefits of taking a daily aspirin must be weighed against the risk of internal bleeding.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

More on preventing, arresting, and reversing heart disease in:
• Heart Disease Starts in Childhood (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/heart-disease-star
• Lifestyle Medicine: Treating the Causes of Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/lifestyle-medicine
• The Actual Benefit of Diet vs. Drugs (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-actual-benefit
• Optimal Cholesterol Level (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/optimal-cholestero
• Physicians May Be Missing Their Most Important Tool (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/physicians-may-be-
• Oxygenating Blood with Nitrate Rich Vegetables (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/oxygenating-blood-
• Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-fish-oil-just-s
• Does Cholesterol Size Matter? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/does-cholesterol-s
• When Low Risk Means High Risk (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/when-low-risk-mean
• Low Carb Diets and Coronary Blood Flow (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/low-carb-diets-and
• Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/fully-consensual-h

This is the first of three videos on the risks versus benefits of taking aspirin. Preventing heart disease and stroke is not the only benefit, though. A daily aspirin may also decrease the risk of certain cancers. In that case should we take an aspirin a day after all? See my next video Should We All Take Aspirin to Prevent Cancer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/should-we-all-take and then I end with Plants with Aspirin Aspirations (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/-plants-with-aspir

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/should-we-all-take and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/should-we-all-take You’ll also find a transcript of the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscr....iption_center?add_us

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Image Credit: stu via flickr. Images have been modified.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found