Preventing the Common Cold with Probiotics?

6 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
21 Jul 2020

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter to receive our fasting infographic that covers the latest research on the risks and benefits of different types of fasting: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

DESCRIPTION: Though prebiotics may be preferable, probiotics may reduce the risk of upper respiratory tract infections.

Probiotics do play an established role in helping to prevent antibiotic-associated diarrhea and may speed recovery from acute gastroenteritis. See my last video, Preventing and Treating Diarrhea with Probiotics (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-and-tre When should they be taken? That's the subject of my next video, Should Probiotics Be Taken Before, During, or After Meals? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/should-probiotics-

How else might we reduce our risk of getting an upper respiratory infection? See:

• Can Gargling Prevent The Common Cold? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/can-gargling-preve
• Are Cats or Dogs More Protective For Children's Health? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/are-cats-or-dogs-m
• Sleep & Immunity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/sleep-immunity/)
• The Risks and Benefits of Neti Pot Nasal Irrigation (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-risks-and-bene

You can tach a video of white blood cells chomping actually down on foreign invaders in my video Clinical Studies on Acai Berries (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/clinical-studies-o A must-see for biology geeks!

The immune boosting fruit and vegetable video I reference is Boosting Immunity Through Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/boosting-immunity- See also Kale and the Immune System (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/kale-and-the-immun and last week's video Boosting Immunity While Reducing Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/boosting-immunity-

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-the-com and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Sofa-King and William Brawley via Flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found