Is Liquid Smoke Flavoring Carcinogenic?

0 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
26 Jul 2020

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter to receive our fasting infographic that covers the latest research on the risks and benefits of different types of fasting: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

DESCRIPTION: Different brands of liquid smoke flavorings have been tested for DNA-damaging potential, p53 activation, and levels of known carcinogens. Smoked foods such as ham, turkey, barbeque chicken, herring, and salmon were also tested.

I've touched on those cooked meat carcinogens before. In Estrogenic Cooked Meat Carcinogens (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/estrogenic-cooked- I explored the role of these cooked meat chemicals in tumor growth. PhIP: The Three Strikes Breast Carcinogen (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/phip-the-three-str explored their role in cancer invasion. Reducing Cancer Risk In Meateaters (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/reducing-cancer-ri offered some mediation strategies. Heterocyclic Amines in Eggs, Cheese, and Creatine? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/heterocyclic-amine showed how even vegetarians may be at risk and Cancer, Interrupted: Green Tea (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/cancer-interrupted and Cancer, Interrupted: Garlic & Flavonoids (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/cancer-interrupted explored some counter measures.

Some of these compounds can be a concern even if you don't eat them. See Meat Fumes: Dietary Secondhand Smoke (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/meat-fumes-dietary Even the smell of frying bacon may be carcinogenic: Carcinogens in the Smell of Frying Bacon (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/carcinogens-in-the

Some plant foods exposed to high temperatures may also present a concern. See Is Yerba Mate Tea Bad for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-yerba-mate-tea- and Acrylamide in French Fries (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/acrylamide-in-fren What about Carcinogens in Roasted Coffee? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/carcinogens-in-roa

The broccoli liver enzyme boost story is covered in The Best Detox (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-detox/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-liquid-smoke-fl and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: kaibara87, afiler, alex.schultz, anotherpintplease, beeJim828, joshbousel, Lynn Friedman and JaBB via flickr; Icons Etc, MichaelPhilip, Allstarecho e-cigarette, Richard Wheeler (Zephyris), and Natasha via Clker.com.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found