How to Treat Asthma with a Low Salt Diet

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
06 Jul 2020

Cutting 2 teaspoons of salt’s worth of sodium from one’s daily diet can significantly improve lung function in asthmatics.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

What does salt intake have to do with inflammation? Find out in my next video, Sodium and Autoimmune Disease: Rubbing Salt in the Wound? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/Sodium-and-Autoimm

What else can we do for asthma? See:
• Preventing Asthma With Fruits and Vegetables (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-asthma-
• Treating Asthma With Fruits and Vegetables (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/treating-asthma-wi
• Treating Asthma With Plants vs. Supplements? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/treating-asthma-wi
• Treating Asthma and Eczema with Plant-based Diets (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/treating-asthma-an
• Vitamin D for Asthma (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/vitamin-D-for-asth

Heard that salt reduction was controversial? That’s what the processed food industry wants you to think. Check out the science in:
• High Blood Pressure May Be a Choice (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/high-blood-pressur
• Sprinkling Doubt: Taking Sodium Skeptics with a Pinch of Salt (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/sprinkling-doubt-t
• The Evidence that Salt Raises Blood Pressure (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-evidence-that-
• Sodium Skeptics Try to Shake up the Salt Debate (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/sodium-skeptics-tr
• Shaking the Salt Habit (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/shaking-salt-habit
• Sodium and Arterial Function: A-Salting our Endothelium (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/sodium-and-arteria

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-to-treat-asthm and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-to-treat-asthm. You’ll also find a transcript of the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscr....iption_center?add_us

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Image credit: Jack Lawrence via flickr. Image has been modified.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found