Food Antioxidants and Cancer

3 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
23 Jun 2020

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

DESCRIPTION: Antioxidant intake from foods (not supplements) is associated with lower cancer risk.

But should we take a multivitamin? See Should We Take a Multivitamin?(http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/should-we-take-a-m :)

What about fish oil supplements? Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/is-fish-oil-just-s

I recently covered how and why we should strive to eat antioxidants with every meal in an important three-part series:

1. Minimum "Recommended Daily Allowance" of Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/minimum-recommende
2. How to Reach the Antioxidant "RDA" (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-to-reach-the-a
3. Antioxidant Rich Foods With Every Meal (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/antioxidant-rich-f

Preferentially getting one's nutrients from produce not pills is a common theme in the nutrition literature. See, for example:

• Are Iron Pills Good for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/are-iron-pills-goo
• Can Folic Acid Be Harmful? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/can-folic-acid-be-
• Produce, Not Pills to Increase Physical Attractiveness (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/produce-not-pills-
• Greens vs. Glaucoma (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/greens-vs-glaucoma
• Cranberries versus Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/cranberries-versus
• Prunes vs. Metamucil vs. Vegan Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/prunes-vs-metamuci
• Optimal Phytosterol Source (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/optimal-phytostero

Antioxidants may also slow aging (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....os/mitochondrial-the reduce inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/anti-inflammatory- improve digestion (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/bulking-up-on-anti and help prevent COPD (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-copd-wi So where are antioxidants found? See my series that starts with Antioxidant Content of 3139 Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/antioxidant-conten and Antioxidant Power of Plant Foods Versus Animal Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/antioxidant-power-

What about the role of antioxidants in other leading causes of death? That's the subject of my next video, Food Antioxidants, Stroke, and Heart Disease.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/food-antioxidants- and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Nicola since 1972 and Capn Kroaker via flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found