Flashback Friday: Whole Beets vs. Juice for Improving Athletic Performance

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
20 Feb 2020

What is the latest science on the performance-enhancing qualities of nitrate-rich vegetables?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

17-part video series? My videos were much shorter back then, but still! If you want to put the whole discovery in context and get the detailed mechanism, check out the series starting with Doping with Beet Juice - https://nutritionfacts.org/topics/beets/page/3/

How else can we support athletic performance? See:

Reducing Muscle Fatigue with Citrus (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/reducing-muscle-f
Reducing Muscle Soreness with Berries (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/reducing-muscle-s
Preventing Exercise-Induced Oxidative Stress with Watercress (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/preventing-exerci

On the other hand, Paleo Diets May Negate Benefits of Exercise (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/Paleo-Diets-May-N

It’s great that we can improve athletic performance eating a few beets, but what about people who could really benefit from a more efficient use of oxygen? That’s the subject of my next video, Oxygenating Blood With Nitrate-Rich Vegetables (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/oxygenating-blood

I recently did a series all about vegetarian athletes:

The Gladiator Diet: How Vegetarian Athletes Stack Up (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/the-gladiator-die
The First Studies on Vegetarian Athletes (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/the-first-studies
Vegetarian Muscle Power, Strength, & Endurance (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/vegetarian-muscle

And what about the keto diet and athletes? Check out Keto Diets: Muscle Growth & Bone Density (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/keto-diets-muscle

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flashback-friday-w and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flashback-friday-w. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgements for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, subscribe to my YouTube Channel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscr....iption_center?add_us

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC."
Do you have feedback about the translations in this video? Please share it here along with the title of the video and language: https://nutritionfacts.zendesk.com/hc/requests/new

Image thanks to New Africa via Adobe Stock.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found