Flashback Friday: Anti-Inflammatory Diet for Depression

1 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
27 Jun 2020

If depression can be induced with pro-inflammatory drugs, might an anti-inflammatory diet be effective in preventing and treating mood disorders?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

Whoa, I packed a lot into this video! If you’re as much of a sucker for evolutionary biology theory as I am, check out:
• High Blood Pressure May Be a Choice (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/high-blood-pressu
• The Problem with the Paleo Diet Argument (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/the-problem-with-
• Why Do We Age? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-do-we-age/)

More on endotoxins in:
• The Leaky Gut Theory of Why Animal Products Cause Inflammation (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/the-leaky-gut-the
• The Exogenous Endotoxin Theory (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/the-exogenous-end
• Dead Meat Bacteria Endotoxemia (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/dead-meat-bacteri

I’ve got gazillions of videos on inflammation, including:
• Which Spices Fight Inflammation? (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/which-spices-figh
• How Tumors Use Meat to Grow: Xeno-Autoantibodies (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/how-tumors-use-me
• Potassium and Autoimmune Disease (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/potassium-and-aut
• Anti-Inflammatory Antioxidants (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/anti-inflammatory
• Modern Meat Not Ahead of the Game (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/modern-meat-not-a

The study showing that dramatic decrease in inflammation within weeks on a plant-based diet was the one I featured in Biblical Daniel Fast Put to the Test (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/biblical-daniel-f

And, finally, for more on the effect diet can have on mental health:
• Fighting the Blues with Greens? (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/fighting-the-blue
• Aspartame and the Brain (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/aspartame-and-the
• Improving Mood Through Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/improving-mood-th
Exercise vs. Drugs for Depression (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/exercise-vs-drugs
• Do Antidepressant Drugs Really Work? (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/do-antidepressant
• Antioxidants and Depression (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/Antioxidants-and-
• Can Dehydration Affect Our Mood? (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/can-dehydration-a
• Plant-Based Diets for Improved Mood and Productivity (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/plant-based-diets
• Are Happier People Actually Healthier? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/are-happier-people
• Which Foods Increase Happiness? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/foods-increase-hap
• Best Food for Antidepressant-Induced Sexual Dysfunction (https://nutritionfacts.org/vid....eo/best-food-for-ant

Have a question about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flashback-friday-a and someone on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the scientific sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cited at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flashback-friday-a. You’ll also find a transcript and acknowledgments for the video, my blog and speaking tour schedule, and an easy way to search (by translated language even) through our videos spanning more than 2,000 health topics.

Thanks for watching. I hope you’ll join in the evidence-based nutrition revolution!
-Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Captions for this video are available in several languages. To find yours, click on the settings wheel on the lower-right of the video and then "Subtitles/CC."
To view the subtitles in transcript format, click on the ellipsis button below the video, choose "Open transcript", and select the language you'd like to view them in.

Image Credit: Ars Electronica via Flickr.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• PREORDER: How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found