Does Cholesterol Size Matter?

5 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
22 Feb 2020

How do American Egg Board arguments hold up to scientific scrutiny, such as the concept that large fluffy LDL cholesterol is protective compared to small, dense LDL.

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

This is why a site like NutritionFacts.org can be so useful, because even when a paper is published in the peer-reviewed medical literature, it can misrepresent the science. But who has time to check the primary sources? I do! If you’d like to support this work, please consider making a tax-deductible donation (https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/).

Here are some other videos in which I contrast the available science with what the egg industry asserts:
• Egg Industry Blind Spot (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/egg-industry-blind
• Eggs and Cholesterol: Patently False and Misleading Claims (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/eggs-and-cholester
• Eggs vs. Cigarettes in Atherosclerosis (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/eggs-vs-cigarettes
• Who Says Eggs Aren’t Healthy or Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/who-says-eggs-aren
• Debunking Egg Industry Myths (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/debunking-egg-indu
• Eggs and Arterial Function (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/eggs-and-arterial-
• How the Egg Board Designs Misleading Studies (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-the-egg-board-

Only the meat industry may be as bold:
BOLD Indeed: Beef Lowers Cholesterol? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/bold-indeed-beef-l

For more on the role of cholesterol, see:
• Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/fully-consensual-h
• Barriers to Heart Disease Prevention (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/barriers-to-heart-
• Trans Fat, Saturated Fat, and Cholesterol: Tolerable Upper Intake of Zero (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/trans-fat-saturate
• Heart Disease Starts in Childhood (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/heart-disease-star
• When Low Risk Means High Risk (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/when-low-risk-mean

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/does-cholesterol-s and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Nikol Lohr via Flickr.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found