Cholesterol Feeds Breast Cancer Cells

3 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
23 Jun 2020

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org for free and receive a copy of the preface for Dr. Greger’s new book, How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

DESCRIPTION: Cholesterol appears to stimulate the growth of human breast cancer cells, which may explain why phytosterol-rich foods such as pumpkin seeds are associated with reduced breast cancer risk.

If cholesterol increases breast cancer risk, what about the use of cholesterol-lowering drugs? That's the subject of my next video, Statin Cholesterol Drugs and Invasive Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/statin-cholesterol

Other foods I mentioned protective against breast cancer include:
• Broccoli (Broccoli vs. Breast Cancer Stem Cells http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/broccoli-versus-br and Breast Cancer Survival Vegetable http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-surv
• Soy (Breast Cancer Survival http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-surv and Soy and BRCA Breast Cancer Genes and Soy http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/brca-breast-cancer
• Flax seeds (Flaxseeds & Breast Cancer Prevention http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/flaxseeds-breast-c

Some I didn't mention include:
• Nuts (Tree Nuts or Peanuts for Breast Cancer Prevention? http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/tree-nuts-or-peanu
• Greens (Preventing Breast Cancer by Any Greens Necessary http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/preventing-breast-
• Mushrooms (Breast Cancer vs. Mushrooms http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/breast-cancer-vs-m
• Sea vegetables (Which Seaweed Is Most Protective Against Breast Cancer? http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/which-seaweed-is-m

More on phytosterols and there they're found in:
• How Phytosterols Lower Cholesterol (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/how-phytosterols-l
• Optimal Phytosterol Dose (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/optimal-phytostero
• Optimal Phytosterol Source (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/optimal-phytostero

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/cholesterol-feeds- and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Julie Redmond and Baylor Health Care System via Flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/
• How to Survive a Pandemic: https://nutritionfacts.org/how....-to-survive-a-pandem
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found