Boosting the Bioavailability of Curcumin

3 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
20 Feb 2020

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and receive recipes developed by the NF staff that will fuel your fitness goals.

DESCRIPTION: Dietary strategies, including the use of black pepper (piperine), can boost blood levels of curcumin from the spice turmeric by up to 2,000%.

Why would we care about boosting curcumin levels? I started talking about this golden spice pigment in Which Spices Fight Inflammation? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/which-spices-fight and Spicing Up DNA Protection (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/spicing-up-dna-pro and then moved on to treating actual clinical conditions in Turmeric Curcumin and Rheumatoid Arthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/turmeric-curcumin- and Turmeric Curcumin and Osteoarthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/turmeric-curcumin- Next I'll end this video series with some cautionary notes in Who Shouldn't Consume Curcumin or Turmeric (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/who-shouldnt-consu

I've previously covered this topic of food synergy in videos such as Apples and Oranges: Dietary Diversity (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/apples-and-oranges and Garden Variety Anti-Inflammation (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/garden-variety-ant that emphasize the importance of eating a variety of plant foods to take advantage of some of these interactions.

The black pepper mechanism reminds me of the grapefruit (Tell Your Doctor If You Eat Grapefruit, http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/tell-your-doctor-i and broccoli (The Best Detox, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-detox/) stories. A testament to the power of plants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/power-plants/).

The painkilling properties of aspirin mentioned in the video are actually found throughout the plant kingdom: Aspirin Levels in Plant Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/aspirin-levels-in-

In some circumstances, traditional medicine wisdom seems incredible (Tomato Effect, http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/the-tomato-effect) in others, dangerous (Get the Lead Out, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/get-the-lead-out). But that's what we now have science for!

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/boosting-the-bioav and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: Marxfoods.com and Steven Jackson photography via flickr, and Choij and Jonathunder via Wikimedia.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK - How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found