Barriers to Heart Disease Prevention

2 Views
NutritionFacts .org
NutritionFacts .org
07 Jan 2021

According to the Director of the famous Framingham Heart Study, the best way to manage cholesterol and heart disease risk is with a more plant-based diet. Why then, don’t more doctors advise their patients to change their diets?

Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org's free e-newsletter and receive a recipe from Dr. Greger's brand-new cookbook, The How Not to Diet Cookbook: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/


Dr. Ornish talks about how diet can be more sustainable than drugs, since compliance is more based on love-of-life rather than fear-of-death. See his editorial in Convergence of Evidence (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/convergence-of-evi

More on how lifestyle medicine is not only safer, and cheaper, but more effective:
• Lifestyle Medicine: Treating the Causes of Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/lifestyle-medicine
• Convincing Doctors to Embrace Lifestyle Medicine (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/convincing-doctors
• Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/fully-consensual-h
• What Diet Should Physician’s Recommend? (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/....video/what-diet-shou

Many physicians just weren’t taught the power of diet:
• Doctors Know Less Than They Think About Nutrition (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/doctors-know-less-
• Medical School Nutrition Training (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/medical-school-nut

But there have been cases of the medical profession actively seeking to limit further nutrition training. See my series about a bill in California:
• Nutrition Education Mandate Introduced For Doctors (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/nutrition-educatio
• Medical Associations Oppose Bill to Mandate Nutrition Training (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/medical-associatio
• California Medical Association Tries to Kill Nutrition Bill (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/california-medical
• Nutrition Bill Doctored in the California Senate (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/nutrition-bill-doc

Why not take drugs every day for the rest of our lives instead of using dietary change? That’s the question I ask in my video Fast Food: Do You Want Fries With That Lipitor? (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/fast-food-do-you-w Not only is that not treating the root cause, but there are potentially serious drug side-effects. See, for example, Statin Muscle Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/statin-muscle-toxi and Statin Cholesterol Drugs and Invasive Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/statin-cholesterol

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/vide....o/barriers-to-heart- and he'll try to answer it!

Image Credit: The Hamster Factor via Flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

Show more


0 Comments Sort By

No comments found